Makeup & Beauty · Product Reviews

Drugstore Mascara Showdown

Did you know back in day mascara wasn’t available In a tube with a spooly until the 1950’s so women, the problem solvers that we are, used fan brushes to apply there mascara. Isn’t that crazy? I can see myself with multiple puncture wounds to the eyes right now.

(That little nugget of information is courtousy of Sephora’s August Sephora Play box!)

I sacrificed my lashes in the name of research to try and find a better drug store mascara, can you guess which one came out on top?

I tested 6 different mascaras: Rimmel Super Curler 24Hr mascara, Maybelline’s Lash Sensational Luscious Mascara, L’Oreal Voluminous Superstar Mascara, Cover Girl The Super Sizer Mascara, Maybelline Great Lash Mascara, & Flower Zoom-In Ultimate Mascara.

First up on the chopping block is Rimmel’s Super Curler 24Hr Mascara. The packaging claims you don’t need to curl your lashes before applying this mascara, that the formula alone will both lift and curl your lashes.

I’m sad to say that’s not the case. Honestly, this has to be the worst mascara I’ve ever tried. The formula dries too quickly and flakes off as you continue to apply it. It didn’t add any volume or definition to my lashes at all.


Next up was L’Oreal’s Voluminous Superstar Mascara. This mascara comes with a white primer that you apply before you apply your mascara. I found this formula to be very luxurious. It definitely gives your lashes tons of volume and adds just the right amount of drama.

Now we turn our heads to Maybelline’s Lash Sensational Lucious Volume Mascara that’s being marketed all over social media right now. In my opinion Maybelline has some of the best drugstore makeup products on the market. That’s why included two mascaras from their brand. The wand is oddly shaped, but not difficult to work with. You can feel the wand lifting your lashes and separating them, creating definition and opening up those peepers. The only negative thing I have to say about this mascara is the formula is SO wet. You need to wait an extra minute or so for it to dry, before applying a second layer if you so choose.


Covergirl disappointed me with this one, I’ve seen some rave reviews about The Super Sizer mascara and I don’t understand where all the hype is coming from. The formula is so goopy and the wand is so tiny and insignificant to handle the amount of mascara that comes out on it once you pull the wand out of the tube. This one’s a pass for me.


On to Flower Beauty, which is made by Drew Berrymore, there’s a fun little tid bit for you. This Zoom In Ultimate Mascara has “dial up” wand so you essentially have 3 different mascara wands contained inside one spooly. You twist the bottom of the wand once, or twice to dial up the volume as desired. I found this be very gimmicky, I used two settings: the straight wand for a more natural look as indicated on the packaging, and I dialed the wand all the way up to see what kind of volume I could create on the other eye. I didn’t see a difference between using the two different types of wands. In fact I don’t care for the formula either, it’s very dry.


Last but certainly not least is Maybelline’s Great Lash Mascara, the original holy grail mascara since 1971. This mascara has been on store shelves longer than I’ve been alive and this was my first time wearing the infamous Great Lash Mascra. Maybelline has updated the packaging, and given it a more modern spooly which I quite enjoyed. This mascara came out on the top for me! There’s something about the formula of this mascara that is so perfect. This mascara has been around for 45 years and is still socially relevant today, this mascara has some serious staying power.

That’s it babes! I hope you enjoyed my little dive into researching drugstore mascara for you. If you have any other products your curious about leave me a comment below! I welcome all suggestions.


Stay Fabuous ✌🏻️

-XO Lyndsey

Leave a Reply

